5 Ways to Deal with Resistance

8 Jan

New-year-2014-Free-Wallpaper

The New Year brings with it many resolutions like going to the gym everyday, writing that great American novel, starting a new business or searching for a new job. We start working on our resolutions and get excited for a little while. Then we all of a sudden find ourselves disinterested, procrastinate and lack any kind of motivation whatsover.

Life Happens
Let’s face it, we all have jobs, a mortgage or rent to pay, kids school activities and lots of other commitments. We don’t have time to start this new habit or commit to a new resolution to do something better for ourselves. We stop what we started and leave projects unfinished.  We start doubting ourselves on whether or not we’ll get to the things we resolved to change. We lose momentum as objects in motion stay in motion and objects at rest stay at rest. It’s like we’re rubber bands that snap back to the same old same old routine. Why is that?

Self-Protection
I first read about resistance from one of Barbara Sher’s books. If you’re not familiar with her she is a career/personal development counselor and author of titles such as Wishcraft and I Could Do Anything if Only I Knew What it Was. I believe she mentioned that resistance is the body’s defense mechanism that keeps ourselves from taking risks in case we get hurt if we fail badly. So we don’t bother to try. It’s these mental blocks, these hurdles, the subconscious telling you you’re not good enough. I know in tennis I certainly feel this way and will tell myself “I should’ve gotten that ball, I’m letting my doubles partner down!” or “I suck anyway dude so maybe I should quit now.” Of course this negative self-talk and resistance is unproductive and doesn’t help anyone.

Here are 5 Ways to Deal:
1. Recognize and acknowledge your resistance patterns. You can’t solve a problem if you don’t know it’s there.  Journal it to make sense of it and where it may be coming from.
2. Sometimes you need to be able to better visualize the end goal. Create a vision board or Pinterest page for inspiration. See my post on how to create a vision board.
3. Track your progress.  There are many productivity apps for that which you could find with a google search. Or you could go old school like I do and use an excel spreadsheet to log the number of times I go to the gym, the number of blog posts I’ve posted for the year, etc.
4. Force a deadline and put your goal on calendar.
5. Be patient. It could take anywhere form 30-60 days for a new habit to stick. But objects at rest stay at rest. Objects in motion stay in motion. Any kind of action is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

